it’s time to let him fly

It’s time. I was dreading this since he was born. The first day of school. Pre-k. He’s so excited. I’m so sad. My big boy is growing up and taking his first steps in this world without me by his side. It’s a scary thought. I know he will be in good hands, he will have fun, he will learn and make new friends and enjoy it to the fullest. But does it have to be so soon? It’s a big step and even though it makes my heart heavy, it is a time to celebrate.

So here’s what we do in Germany. Kids get something called a Schultuete, a school bag, filled with goodies for school and fun. And a little candy. Since we don’t live there I can’t buy one, I had to make one. It’s ok. I made one for little brother too 🙂

 

Schultueten for the dudes

 

 

 

 

 

5 Replies to “it’s time to let him fly”

  1. Wow, ehrlich? Er geht schon in die ….Vorschule? Ist das die richtige Ăśbersetzung?

    Erzähl mal, was machen die Kids da? So groĂź schon….

  2. Ach du liebes Lieschen… Ben geht echt schon in die Vorschule? WOW, so schnell vergeht die Zeit? Jetzt fuehle ich mich alt…
    Aber ich stimme zu, die Schultueten sind super! Nebenbei: Ich hab sowas unter dem Stichwort “School Cornet” (statt “School Bag”) gefunden, der Begriff ist vielleicht verständlicher.

Leave a Reply

