swedish apple cake

It’s been a while since I shared a recipe with you guys. But this one, I can’t keep to myself.

We went to IKEA last weekend because let’s face it, summer break is a lot and sometimes a little retail therapy makes everything better. It also doesn’t hurt that they have the one hour daycare in their stores. I am not ashamed to admit, I happily hand my kids over for one hour of peaceful shopping with the hubs.

But first things first. We had to eat. What’s better than a nice plate of Swedish meatballs followed by that delicious apple cake? After watching my dudes devour the cake like cavemen I decided, I need to make this cake. There is no way around it. So after we got home I started searching the net for the recipe. But it looks like the Swedish guard their recipes like bloodhounds. There was nothing. Seriously nothing. A few recipes titled Swedish apple cake, but none of them even looked close to the one at the big furniture store. I finally found one, I liked the dough recipe, but not the filling. So I went to work. Just for you. And I did it. It’s even better than in the restaurant. Probably because you can eat the whole thing and not just one slice😉

Swedish Apple Cake

008

Dough
(adapted from semiswede)

1 1/2 cups flour

3 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 cup sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 cup cold unsalted butter

1 egg

zest of one lemon

pinch of salt

Filling

5-6 medium-sized Fuji apples

3 kid’s handful raisins (optional)

juice of one lemon

3 tablespoons dark brown sugar

one shot bourbon (optional)

2 teaspoons flour

1 teaspoon cinnamon

one teaspoon vanilla

Preheat the oven to 390F

Stir all the filling ingredients together and set aside

blend all the dough ingredients together in a food processor until it comes together, turn our on a cool surface and quickly knead it until it’s a smooth dough. Cut the dough in thirds. Take a 8″ cake pan, grease it and press 2/3 of the dough on the bottom and up the sides. Pour the filling on the dough. Roll out the last 1/3 of the dough and cover the apples with it.

Bake for 25-30 minutes until golden brown.

Enjoy with vanilla sauce, vanilla ice cream or just warm with a glass of milk.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “swedish apple cake

  1. My favourite part of this post wasn’t the recipe, although the recipe is going on our summer to do list, it was the “3 kid’s handful raisins” line. Loved that!

  2. i really like ikea’s apple cake!!!!!!!!!!!!!and now i found it,I would make, Hope to get your guidance!Thanks!

Leave a Reply

